UEFA CL: Man Utd take on Barcelona, Liverpool land Porto


Tottenham will take on Manchester City in an all-Premier League Champions League quarter-final, while elsewhere Manchester United take on Barcelona.

The eight teams left in the competition learned their fate on Friday morning in Nyon, Switzerland, with the draw for both the quarter-finals and semifinals taking place.

There is no longer any seedings or country protection for the last eight, with teams from the same nations now eligible to play against one another – and the draw served up some mouth-watering ties.

Ole Gunnar Solskjaer’s United undoubtedly pulled off the most remarkable result of the last 16, turning around a two-goal home deficit to knock PSG out of the tournament in Paris.

Likewise, Ajax pulled off a stunning result at the Bernabeu to send holders Real Madrid crashing out, while Juventus and Porto both came back from firs leg defeats to progress.

Tottenham and Liverpool beat Bundesliga giants – and group winners – Borussia Dortmund and Bayern Munich respectively, while Barcelona and Manchester City eased past Schalke and Lyon.

As well as drawing the quarter-finalists, Friday’s ceremony also determined the semi-finals and decided which side of the draw would be the ‘home’ team in the final.

Tottenham or Spurs will take on the winner of Ajax versus Juventus, while Liverpool will face the daunting prospect of Barcelona or Man United if they overcome Porto.

When do the quarter-finals take place? The first legs of the Champions League quarter-finals will take place on the 9/10 April, with the second legs scheduled for the following week on 16/17 April.

The semi-finals begin two weeks later, while the final takes place on 1 June at the Wanda Metropolitano in Madrid – ironically with neither of the city’s two big teams left in the competition at this stage for the first time since 2010.

9/10 April: Quarter-finals, first leg

16/17 April: Quarter-finals, second leg

30 April/1 May: Semi-finals, first leg

7/8 May: Semi-finals, second leg

1 June: Final

Leave a Reply