Ebony, Joe Mettle, Sarkodie, Stonebwoy, and others win at VGMA2018 | Full List Of Winners
The late Ebony Reigns

The 19th Vodafone Ghana Music Awards came off at the International Conference Center in Accra

The annual ceremony ended on a high-note with dancehall/afropop artiste, late Ebony Reigns setting a record of being the first female artiste to win the most coveted “Artiste of the Year” award. The ‘Maame Hw3’ singer beat her contenders in that category including the reigning Artiste of the year, Joe Mettle to win that prestigious award.

Ebony won two other awards; her song ‘Sponsor’ won Afro-pop song of the year and ‘Maame Hw3’ won Songwriter of the year written by Bullet.

The former Artiste of the Year, Joe Mettle won himself three (3) awards; Gospel Song of the year with ‘Bo No No’, Gospel Artiste of the year and Best Male Vocalist of the year.

Fancy Gadam, Sarkodie and Kuami Eugene also took home two (2) each in their various categories. Samini, Stonebwoy, Teephlow, Kidi, Kwesi Arthur, Wutah, Adina, and Shatta Wale also took home one award each in their various categories.

The night ceremony was hosted by GhOne TV Presenter, Berla Mundi and Ghanaian actor and Entrepreneur, John Dumelo aka V8.

Performances on the night included; Joe Mettle, Kelvyn Boy, Stonebwoy, Kidi, King Promise, Kuami Eugene, Praye, Kwesi Arthur, Tiwa Savage, Nasty C, MzVee, Sarkodie, Samini and a host of others.

See the full list of winners below:


Traditional Artiste of the Year – Amamre Folk Music and Dance Ensemble

Instrumental Artiste of the Year – Dominic Quarshie

Lifetime Achievement Award – Mary Naa Amanua Dodoo


Vodafone Unsung of the Year – Kelvyn Boy

Gospel Song of the Year – ‘Bo No No’ by Joe Mettle

Highlife Song of the Year – ‘Odo’ by Kidi

Reggae/Dancehall Song of the Year – ‘My Own’ by Samini

Hiplife Song of the Year – ‘Total Cheat’ by Fancy Gadam ft Sarkodie

Afro-pop Song of the Year – ‘Sponsor’ by Ebony Reigns

Hip-Hop Song of the Year – ‘Grind Day RMX’ by Kwesi Arthur ft Medikal x Sarkodie

Gospel Artiste of the Year – Joe Mettle

Hiplife/Hip-Hop artiste of the Year – Sarkodie

Reggae/Dancehall Artiste of the Year – Stonebwoy

Songwriter of the Year – Bullet ‘Maame Hw3’ performed by Ebony Reigns

Best collaboration of the Year – ‘Taking Over’ by Shatta Wale ft SM Militants

Best Music Video of the Year – ‘Obi Agyi Obi Girl’ (Dir. by GYO of Phamous Filmz) by Captain Planet

Female Vocalist of the Year – Adina

Male Vocalist of the Year – Joe Mettle

Best Group of the Year – Wutah

Best Rapper of the Year – Sarkodie

African Artiste of the Year – Davido

Best New Artiste of the Year – Kuami Eugene

Record of the Year – TeePhlow

Most Popular Song of the Year – ‘Total Cheat’ by Fancy Gadam ft Sarkodie

Album of the Year – ‘Bonyfied’ by Ebony Reigns

Artiste of the Year – Ebony Reigns

Congratulations to all the winner!! “Ghana Music Beyond Borders”

Leave a Reply